3 Lessons Cartoons Taught Me

“We let the TV be her babysitter,” my father jokingly tells his friends when asked about my upbringing.

Yes, I will admit to being an avid fan of Disney, Nickelodeon, and Cartoon Network. I soaked in hours upon hours of animated antics every week. In fact, the Pickles were practically related to me, as were the Thornberrys and the Prouds (if you understood any of those references, congratulations! You are experienced with the golden age of the cartoon realm).

Much of my childhood, and admittedly, a majority of my adolescence, was influenced by my cartoon-obsession. Below are examples of what life lessons my favorite shows taught me.

1. “Things aren’t always as they appear.”

Provided by Comic Vine

Many of my peers admit to not being able to watch Courage the Cowardly Dog because it “gave them nightmares.” I will admit Courage did lean toward the dark side with many of its themes. This show may be the reason I have such a twisted sense of humor, but then again, it could be why I have such a vivid imagination. From its farfetched story lines to its infamous plot twists, Courage served up off-the-wall entertainment. This series taught me that reality is often distorted by manifestations of our own fantasies. In other words, we believe what we want to believe as true. We also tend to survey a scene and believe we know all there is to it. Courage reminds us to dig deeper into our experiences and encounters, because we never truly can tell from a glance who is real and who is not.

2. “New adventures wait for you everywhere you go.”

Provided by Shout Factory

Eliza Thornberry was the envy of many girls my age: she got to explore the world with her family, interact with people from every aspect of life, and, let’s not forget, utilize her amazing gift of being able to communicate with animals. Adventure and intrigue beckoned Eliza constantly, and she was always taking opportunities to help others as she explored the world. The Wild Thornberrys reminded me with every episode that the world in itself is a treasure: new ideas, new faces, and new ways of living can be witnessed everywhere you go.  Experience helps us to mature, and we can impact lives merely by taking chances and stepping out of our comfort zones.

3. “Maturity is the ability to learn from your mistakes.”

Provided by Thanks Daria Files

Because As Told by Ginger was targeted toward preteens and teenagers, the show tackled a few touchy subjects, including suicide, divorce, and even the dreaded topic of puberty. Each episode brought a new, realistic conflict to the surface. Ginger Foutley, like many other young women, matured through experiences with friends, foes, and family. Unlike many other protagonists, Ginger did not always make the right choice in the end. For instance, in one episode, Ginger stole a sign from a public building to give to her classmate, Courtney Gripling, for her birthday. From getting into a heap of trouble, Ginger learned that it is better to do what is right than to win the approval of others.

Although I didn’t realize it at the time, the cartoons of my childhood did much more than entertain me. Messages communicated through the interactions of characters within the shows helped me to understand the meaning of friendship, loyalty, family, and self-worth.

Leave a comment